State Legislative Process

The states of the United States of America have individual and unique governments with many similarities. All states are required by the constitution to have republican governments. Despite their similarities, all states have different government structures and procedures.

Each state in the United States has a legislative branch as part of its civil government. The constitutions of each state provide the fundamental details of the legislature. Forty-nine state legislatures are bicameral bodies; i.e., having two bodies or chambers. These legislatures are composed of a lower house (Assembly, General Assembly, State Assembly, House of Delegates or House of Representatives) and an upper house (Senate). Nebraska is the only state with a unicameral body.

Specific details on each state’s legislative process, proposed bills and laws can be accessed via their individual web sites. A listing of the individual state’s websites is provided by clicking/selecting the appropriate web address listed below.

Alabama AL

Alaska AK

Arizona AZ

Arkansas AR

California CA

Colorado CO

Connecticut CT

Delaware DE

Florida FL

Georgia GA

Hawaii HI

Idaho ID

Illinois IL

Indiana IN

Iowa IA

Kansas KS

Kentucky KY

Louisiana LA

Maine ME

Maryland MD

Massachusetts MA

Michigan MI

Minnesota MN

Mississippi MS

Missouri MO

Montana MT

Nebraska NE

Nevada NV

New Hampshire NH

New Jersey NJ

New Mexico NM

New York NY State Assembly

State Senate

North Carolina NC

North Dakota ND

Ohio OH

Oklahoma OK

Oregon OR

Pennsylvania PA

Puerto Rico PR State Senate

Rhode Island RI

South Carolina SC

South Dakota SD

Tennessee TN

Texas TX

Utah UT

Vermont VT

Virginia VA http://www.legis,

Washington WA

West Virginia WV

Wisconsin WI

Wyoming WY

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *