Committee of Energy & Commerce

114th United States Congress House of Representatives Committee of Energy and Commerce

The Committee on Energy and Commerce, the oldest standing committee in the U. S. House of Representatives, is the House’s principle guide in the promotion of commerce, public health, energy, and technology.

The House Energy and Commerce Committee’s legislative jurisdiction includes public health and quarantine; hospital construction; mental health and research; biomedical programs and health protection in general, including Medicaid and national health insurance. In addition, it also concerns itself with food and drugs; and, drug abuse. The Committee’s powerful Subcommittee on Health has sole jurisdiction over Medicaid, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), and shares jurisdiction of Medicare with the Ways and Means Committee. The Health Subcommittee oversees public health, biomedical programs, food and drug safety, mental health and research, hospital construction and all health care homeland security-related concerns.


       Republicans                                                   Democrats

Fred Upton (MI)- Chairman Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ) -  Ranking Member
Joe Barton (TX) - Chairman Emeritus Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Ed Whitfield (KY) Anna G. Eshoo (CA)
John Shimkus (IL) Eliot L. Engel (NY)
Joseph R. Pitts (PA) Gene Green (TX)
Greg Walden (OR) Diana DeGette (CO)
Tim Murphy (PA) Lois Capps (CA)
Michael C. Burgess (TX) Michael F. Doyle (PA)
Marsha Blackburn (TN) - Vice Chairman Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Steve Scalise (LA) G. K. Butterfield (NC)
Bob Latta (OH) Doris O. Matsui (CA)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA) Kathy Castor (FL)
Gregg Harper (MS) John Sarbanes (MD)
Leonard Lance (NJ) Jerry McNerney (CA)
Brett Guthrie (KY) Peter Welch (VT)
Pete Olson (TX) Ben Ray Lujan (NM)
David McKinley (WV) Paul Tonko (NY)
Mike Pompeo (KS) John Yarmuth (KY)
Adam Kinzinger (IL) Yvette D. Clarke (NY)
Morgan Griffith (VA) David Loebsack (IA)
Gus Bilirakis (FL) Kurt Schrader (OR)
Bill Johnson (OH) Joseph P. Kennedy III (MA)
Billy Long (MO) Tony Cardenas (CA)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Larry Bucshon (IN)
Susan Brooks (IN)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Chris Collins (NY)
Kevin Cramer (ND)